Tarrant County, Texas DWI
No one wins in a DWI arrest-the victim or the alleged offender. But if you happen to be the one in the back of the police car, you will need help. During normal business hours give us a call at 817-877-5472 (817-877-LISA) or if it is the weekend/evening call us at 817-479-9331 and leave a message; we will call you right back.
DWI stands for driving while intoxicated. Every state has laws that relate to driving a motor vehicle while being intoxicated. Most states differ on how they define DWI as well as the fines and punishments for being accused of DWI.
In Texas and in Fort Worth, a DWI is defined by your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) levels. BAC is a test that is used by law enforcement that measures how much alcohol is in a person’s bloodstream. The most common way law enforcement administers this test is through a breathalyzer. But they can also obtain a warrant to draw blood and test it for the amount of alcohol.
Each state has its own limits on BAC.
In Texas and Fort Worth the limits are as follows:
Anyone 21 years or older: 0.08%
Anyone who has a commercial driver’s license (CDL): 0.04%
Anyone who is younger than 21 years: Any amount
What Are My Options?
There are two options when deciding how to attack a potential DWI conviction. You can plead not guilty or guilty. If you plead guilty, then you are at the mercy of the courts. If you plead not guilty you can review the evidence against you and either go on to trial or work out a plea deal.
How Do I Decide Which Plea To Enter?
Every case is different. You should contact a lawyer who specializes in criminal defense. Often times, a lawyer can spot legal issues that most lay people cannot. For example, if a police officer pulls over a person without probable cause and then finds evidence of a DWI, often times a qualified defense attorney can get that evidence removed from trial. There are certain rules of law and rules of evidence that must be followed; for this you need an attorney.
More Info Coming Soon
What is an occupational driver’s license?
How do you obtain an occupational driver’s license?
What is an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Program?
How do you request an ALR hearing?
What is the point of an ALR hearing?
How Does a DWI Impact My Driver’s License?
This depends on if you are a commercial driver’s license (CDL) holder or a “regular” driver. If a CDL driver is arrested for DWI, he could lose his CDL and possibly lose his driver’s license. If you are a regular driver’s license holder who refuses to take or fails a field sobriety test, your license will be suspended and you will not be allowed to drive.
Got Questions? Let’s Talk.
Feel free to call and set up an appointment. We offer a FREE 45-minute consultation on all criminal cases. Come and get the time and attention you deserve.
817-877-5472 (9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M - F)
817-479-9331 (evenings and week-ends)
Calls and emails are returned nights and weekends, so leave a message.
"I was shocked at finding an attorney who put so much work into my husband's DWI case. Not only did she do excellent work, but she taught us along the way."
"Lisa is probably the most honest attorney I have ever worked with. Great person."